Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
Домашняя страница Owl
Другие языки
английский
Концепция
Процессорные архитектуры
Система сборки
Установка
Обновление
Скачать (HTTP, FTP, rsync, anoncvs)
CVSweb
Изменения
Изменения в current
Изменения в 3.1-stable
Изменения до 3.1
Изменения в 3.0-stable
Изменения до 3.0
Изменения в 2.0-stable
Изменения до 2.0
Изменения в 1.1-stable
Изменения до 1.1
Изменения до 1.0
Изменения в 0.1-stable
Графика для ссылок
Скриншоты
Слайды презентации
Wiki
OpenVZ-виртуализация
Пакеты
VPS-хостинг с Owl
Что пишут об Owl
Ниже приведен список архитектур, поддерживаемых Owl, их варианты и различные специфические особенности.

Версии архитектур.

Для некоторых процессорных архитектур Owl поддерживает их различные подварианты (версии). Например, i386 и i686 являются версиями архитектуры x86 (IA32). Вполне допустимо (и, как правило, рекомендуется) собирать и использовать бинарные пакеты, рассчитанные на более старое "железо".

Пакеты, собранные для версии архитектуры, максимально близкой к вашей, могут дать небольшой выигрыш в производительности (обычно 1...5% для большинства задач), но даже за эту малость приходится платить потерей их совместимости с более старым "железом". Более того, вы не сможете собирать пакеты (или вообще программы) для более старых версий вашей архитектуры, если используемые вами статические библиотеки рассчитаны на новую. Пакеты могут успешно собираться, устанавливаться и работать, но при этом они будут требовать использования нового "железа" - из-за унаследованных от библиотечных модулей фрагментов кода.

Есть два возможных решения данной проблемы: вы можете использовать только пакеты, созданные для самой древней версии архитектуры, которая только может у вас быть, или же вы можете установить набор статических библиотек, ориентированный на более старое оборудование, а для работы своей системы использовать пакеты и динамические библиотеки, оптимизированные под ваш компьютер. Скорее всего, оптимальным окажется первый вариант, несмотря на то, что в этом случае не достигается максимальная производительность.

Обратите внимание, что пакеты, собранные для более старой версии той же архитектуры, могут быть оптимизированы для вашего более нового процессора, в пределах набора возможностей выбранной версии. По умолчанию все пакеты Owl собираются именно так.

Сборка для определенной версии архитектуры.

Версия архитектуры может быть указана в строке ARCHITECTURE= файла buildworld.conf. Эта строка не является обязательной и по умолчанию закомментирована - в этом случае выбирается самая старая из версий, поддерживаемых для данной архитектуры.

Перекрестная сборка (cross-build) не поддерживается: нельзя собирать пакеты ни для других архитектур, ни для более новых версий используемой.

x86 (IA32).

По умолчанию определены два варианта - i386 и i686. i386 позволяет собрать пакеты, которые действительно будут работать на i386 или любом более новом процессоре. Оба варианта оптимизированы для i686, отличие между ними лишь в том, что i686 использует дополнительные инструкции, доступные только для этой версии архитектуры.

x86-64 (AMD64 и EM64T).

Определен единственный вариант, именуемый x86_64.

SPARC.

Определены два варианта - sparc и sparcv9. sparc подразумевает как минимум SPARC V8, и оба варианта оптимизированы для UltraSPARC. Пакеты sparcv9 не будут работать ни на чем ниже Ultra.

Выигрыш в производительности при использовании sparcv9 минимален (в пределах 2%, за исключением отдельных функций glibc и OpenSSL, написанных на ассемблере для SPARC V9).

sparc64 в данный момент не поддерживается. Тем не менее, можно использовать и пересобирать 32-битную среду Owl, работая с ядром sparc64.

Alpha.

По умолчанию определены два варианта - alpha и alphaev56. Выбор влияет как на использование расширений BWX для alphaev56, так и на оптимизацию. Пакеты, собранные для alpha, рассчитаны на более старые процессоры EV4 (21064, 21066), а собранные для alphaev56 - на процессоры EV56/PCA56 (21164A, 21164PC). Для EV5 (21164) вы можете использовать старые пакеты для alpha. Для EV6+ (21264, 21264A) используйте alphaev56.

$Owl: Owl/doc/ru/ARCHITECTURES,v 1.10 2010/12/14 16:35:41 solar Exp $

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ

Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
Owl homepage
Other languages
Russian
Concepts
Architectures
Build environment
Installation instructions
Upgrade instructions
Download (HTTP, FTP, rsync, anoncvs)
CVSweb
Purchase CDs
Change logs
Changes in current
Changes in 3.0-stable
Changes up to 3.0
Changes in 2.0-stable
Changes up to 2.0
Changes in 1.1-stable
Changes up to 1.1
Changes up to 1.0
Changes in 0.1-stable
Artwork
Screenshots
Presentation slides
Wiki
OpenVZ virtualization
Packages
Owl VPS hosting
Owl in the news
The following is a list of architectures supported by Owl, their flavors and various architecture-specific details.

Architecture flavors.

On many architectures, Owl supports multiple flavors (or versions) of the architecture. For example, i386 and i686 are both versions of the x86 (IA32) architecture. It is possible to build and/or use binary packages intended for an older version of the architecture on your modern hardware.

Packages built for an architecture flavor closest to that implemented in your CPU may provide a small performance improvement (usually 1 to 5% overall on real-world tasks). However, there's a price: you won't be able to move such packages to an older machine and install there. Worse, you may not be able to build packages (or any binaries) for an older architecture flavor on a system where the development libraries were built for a newer one. The packages will appear to build and work, but may in fact require the newer architecture flavor due to code inherited from development libraries installed on the system.

There are two possible solutions to this last problem: you may choose to only use packages for the oldest architecture flavor you may ever need, or you may install development libraries built for the older flavor while using other packages (including dynamic libraries) built for your actual hardware. It is likely that you will find the first solution more practical, even though it doesn't provide the best possible performance.

Note that packages built for an older architecture flavor may be tuned for your newer CPU, to the extent possible within the feature set of the older flavor. This is how all Owl packages are built by default.

Building for a particular architecture flavor.

Architecture flavor may be specified via the ARCHITECTURE= line in buildworld.conf. This line is optional and commented out by default, in which case the default flavor is architecture-specific (a certain flavor of the build host's architecture, in some cases the oldest, in others not).

Cross-builds are not supported: it is not possible to build packages for an architecture different than that of the build host, nor for a flavor of the architecture newer than that implemented in the build host's CPU.

x86, also known as IA32.

Two architecture flavors are defined by default: i386 and i686. The i386 produces packages that will actually run on an i386 or on any newer CPU. Both the i386 and the i686 packages are tuned for an i686, with the only difference being that the i686 packages make use of the instructions only available with this newer architecture flavor.

Although the overall performance improvement with the i686 packages is small, this is our current default. In fact, we do not provide a kernel configuration for i386, so the kernel package will only build for i686.

x86-64, also known as AMD64 and EM64T.

There are no flavors. The identifier for this architecture is x86_64, and it is fully supported.

SPARC.

SPARC was fully supported by the Owl userland up through and including the Owl 2.0 release, although we never provided a tested kernel config (and in fact a 64-bit kernel required for modern hardware would not build on our 32-bit only SPARC userland anyway - one needs to use a third-party 64-bit build of gcc for that). We've last built Owl-current for SPARC in October 2006. After that point, there was no further effort to see if the Owl userland builds for SPARC or not - perhaps it still mostly does as we did not knowingly break the support.

Two architecture flavors are defined: sparc and sparcv9. The sparc assumes at least a SPARC V8, and both produce packages tuned for an UltraSPARC. The sparcv9 packages will actually not work on anything below an Ultra.

The performance improvement with the sparcv9 is minimal (1 to 2%, except for certain functions in glibc and OpenSSL where SPARC V9 assembly versions are provided).

sparc64 is not supported at this stage. It is possible to build Owl userland (32-bit) while running a sparc64 kernel, though (we did).

Alpha.

Alpha was fully supported by the Owl userland up through and including the Owl 2.0 release, although we never provided a tested kernel config. After that point, there was no further effort to see if the Owl userland builds for Alpha or not - perhaps it still mostly does as we did not knowingly break the support.

Two architecture flavors are defined by default: alpha and alphaev56. The choice affects both the use of BWX extensions with alphaev56 and instruction scheduling. That is, packages built for plain alpha target are tuned for older EV4 processors (21064, 21066) and ones built for alphaev56 are tuned for EV56/PCA56 processors (21164A, 21164PC). On an EV5 (21164) processor you may use the suboptimal plain alpha packages. On an EV6+ (21264, 21264A), use the alphaev56 packages.

$Owl: Owl/doc/ARCHITECTURES,v 1.9 2010/07/29 01:40:29 solar Exp $

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ