Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 10 Jan 2018 18:02:45 -0800
From: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
To: linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>,
	"Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@....edu>,
	Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@...ger.ca>,
	linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Alexander Viro <viro@...iv.linux.org.uk>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Hellwig <hch@...radead.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	"David S. Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Laura Abbott <labbott@...hat.com>,
	Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>,
	"Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@...cle.com>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
	Christoffer Dall <christoffer.dall@...aro.org>,
	Dave Kleikamp <dave.kleikamp@...cle.com>,
	Jan Kara <jack@...e.cz>,
	Luis de Bethencourt <luisbg@...nel.org>,
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>,
	Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	Matthew Garrett <mjg59@...gle.com>,
	linux-fsdevel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	netdev@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-mm@...ck.org,
	kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: [PATCH 13/38] ext4: Define usercopy region in ext4_inode_cache slab cache

From: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>

The ext4 symlink pathnames, stored in struct ext4_inode_info.i_data
and therefore contained in the ext4_inode_cache slab cache, need
to be copied to/from userspace.

cache object allocation:
    fs/ext4/super.c:
        ext4_alloc_inode(...):
            struct ext4_inode_info *ei;
            ...
            ei = kmem_cache_alloc(ext4_inode_cachep, GFP_NOFS);
            ...
            return &ei->vfs_inode;

    include/trace/events/ext4.h:
            #define EXT4_I(inode) \
                (container_of(inode, struct ext4_inode_info, vfs_inode))

    fs/ext4/namei.c:
        ext4_symlink(...):
            ...
            inode->i_link = (char *)&EXT4_I(inode)->i_data;

example usage trace:
    readlink_copy+0x43/0x70
    vfs_readlink+0x62/0x110
    SyS_readlinkat+0x100/0x130

    fs/namei.c:
        readlink_copy(..., link):
            ...
            copy_to_user(..., link, len)

        (inlined into vfs_readlink)
        generic_readlink(dentry, ...):
            struct inode *inode = d_inode(dentry);
            const char *link = inode->i_link;
            ...
            readlink_copy(..., link);

In support of usercopy hardening, this patch defines a region in the
ext4_inode_cache slab cache in which userspace copy operations are
allowed.

This region is known as the slab cache's usercopy region. Slab caches
can now check that each dynamically sized copy operation involving
cache-managed memory falls entirely within the slab's usercopy region.

This patch is modified from Brad Spengler/PaX Team's PAX_USERCOPY
whitelisting code in the last public patch of grsecurity/PaX based on my
understanding of the code. Changes or omissions from the original code are
mine and don't reflect the original grsecurity/PaX code.

Signed-off-by: David Windsor <dave@...lcore.net>
[kees: adjust commit log, provide usage trace]
Cc: "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@....edu>
Cc: Andreas Dilger <adilger.kernel@...ger.ca>
Cc: linux-ext4@...r.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>
---
 fs/ext4/super.c | 12 +++++++-----
 1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/ext4/super.c b/fs/ext4/super.c
index 7c46693a14d7..57a8fa451d3e 100644
--- a/fs/ext4/super.c
+++ b/fs/ext4/super.c
@@ -1036,11 +1036,13 @@ static void init_once(void *foo)
 
 static int __init init_inodecache(void)
 {
-	ext4_inode_cachep = kmem_cache_create("ext4_inode_cache",
-					     sizeof(struct ext4_inode_info),
-					     0, (SLAB_RECLAIM_ACCOUNT|
-						SLAB_MEM_SPREAD|SLAB_ACCOUNT),
-					     init_once);
+	ext4_inode_cachep = kmem_cache_create_usercopy("ext4_inode_cache",
+				sizeof(struct ext4_inode_info), 0,
+				(SLAB_RECLAIM_ACCOUNT|SLAB_MEM_SPREAD|
+					SLAB_ACCOUNT),
+				offsetof(struct ext4_inode_info, i_data),
+				sizeof_field(struct ext4_inode_info, i_data),
+				init_once);
 	if (ext4_inode_cachep == NULL)
 		return -ENOMEM;
 	return 0;
-- 
2.7.4

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ