Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 6 Dec 2017 09:48:12 +0100
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org>
To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>
Cc: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>, 
	"kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com" <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, 
	"Jason A. Donenfeld" <Jason@...c4.com>, "Theodore Ts'o" <tytso@....edu>, Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, 
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ho.ws>, 
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>, 
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>, Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>, 
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>, Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>, 
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>, 
	Will Deacon <wilal.deacon@....com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>, 
	Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>, Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>, 
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>, Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, 
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>, 
	"linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org>, Network Development <netdev@...r.kernel.org>, 
	David Miller <davem@...emloft.net>, Stephen Rothwell <sfr@...b.auug.org.au>, 
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>, Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>, 
	Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>, 
	Sergei Shtylyov <sergei.shtylyov@...entembedded.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V11 3/5] printk: hash addresses printed with %p

Hi Linus,

On Wed, Dec 6, 2017 at 12:33 AM, Linus Torvalds
<torvalds@...ux-foundation.org> wrote:
> On Tue, Dec 5, 2017 at 2:57 PM, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@...ux-m68k.org> wrote:
>> Lowest 3 is good enough for all natural types, up to long long.
>> We may still receive complaints from people who care about seeing if
>> a pointer is cacheline-aligned or not. Fixing that may need up to 7 bits, I'm
>> afraid, which is a bit too much to give up.
>
> I really think even the lowest three is a bit too much.
>
> Who really cares? If it's something that is particularly _about_
> alignment (ie an alignment trap), maybe just print out those bits
> separately.

If I'm not mistaken, some architectures don't generate alignment traps, but
just zero the LSBs.

> And for everything else? It's purely about getting used to it.

Yes, we will get used to it.

I agree that for debugging during development, we will just use %px and be
fine.

Storm in a glass of water, everybody will have forgotten by the time v4.16 is
released.

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@...ux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ