Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Fri, 20 Oct 2017 10:24:21 +0200
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@...nel.org>
To: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@...dor.apana.org.au>,
	"David S . Miller" <davem@...emloft.net>,
	Thomas Gleixner <tglx@...utronix.de>,
	Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>, "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>,
	Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
	Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
	Matthias Kaehlcke <mka@...omium.org>,
	Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@....com>,
	Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
	"Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@...ux.intel.com>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
	Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
	Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>, Chris Wright <chrisw@...s-sol.org>,
	Alok Kataria <akataria@...are.com>,
	Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>, Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Christoph Lameter <cl@...ux.com>,
	Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>,
	Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
	Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@...il.com>,
	"Paul E . McKenney" <paulmck@...ux.vnet.ibm.com>,
	Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@...aro.org>,
	Borislav Petkov <bp@...en8.de>,
	"Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
	Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Christopher Li <sparse@...isli.org>,
	Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>,
	Jason Baron <jbaron@...mai.com>,
	Mika Westerberg <mika.westerberg@...ux.intel.com>,
	Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@...fujitsu.com>,
	"Rafael J . Wysocki" <rafael.j.wysocki@...el.com>,
	Lukas Wunner <lukas@...ner.de>,
	Masahiro Yamada <yamada.masahiro@...ionext.com>,
	Alexei Starovoitov <ast@...nel.org>,
	Daniel Borkmann <daniel@...earbox.net>,
	Markus Trippelsdorf <markus@...ppelsdorf.de>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>,
	Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>, Rik van Riel <riel@...hat.com>,
	David Howells <dhowells@...hat.com>,
	Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
	Waiman Long <longman@...hat.com>, Kyle Huey <me@...ehuey.com>,
	Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>,
	Peter Foley <pefoley2@...oley.com>, Paul Bolle <pebolle@...cali.nl>,
	Jiri Kosina <jkosina@...e.cz>, "H . J . Lu" <hjl.tools@...il.com>,
	Rob Landley <rob@...dley.net>, Baoquan He <bhe@...hat.com>,
	Jan H . Schönherr <jschoenh@...zon.de>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>, x86@...nel.org,
	linux-crypto@...r.kernel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, virtualization@...ts.linux-foundation.org,
	xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org, linux-arch@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-sparse@...r.kernel.org, kvm@...r.kernel.org,
	linux-doc@...r.kernel.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v1 01/27] x86/crypto: Adapt assembly for PIE support


* Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com> wrote:

> Change the assembly code to use only relative references of symbols for the
> kernel to be PIE compatible.
> 
> Position Independent Executable (PIE) support will allow to extended the
> KASLR randomization range below the -2G memory limit.

> diff --git a/arch/x86/crypto/aes-x86_64-asm_64.S b/arch/x86/crypto/aes-x86_64-asm_64.S
> index 8739cf7795de..86fa068e5e81 100644
> --- a/arch/x86/crypto/aes-x86_64-asm_64.S
> +++ b/arch/x86/crypto/aes-x86_64-asm_64.S
> @@ -48,8 +48,12 @@
>  #define R10	%r10
>  #define R11	%r11
>  
> +/* Hold global for PIE suport */
> +#define RBASE	%r12
> +
>  #define prologue(FUNC,KEY,B128,B192,r1,r2,r5,r6,r7,r8,r9,r10,r11) \
>  	ENTRY(FUNC);			\
> +	pushq	RBASE;			\
>  	movq	r1,r2;			\
>  	leaq	KEY+48(r8),r9;		\
>  	movq	r10,r11;		\
> @@ -74,54 +78,63 @@
>  	movl	r6 ## E,4(r9);		\
>  	movl	r7 ## E,8(r9);		\
>  	movl	r8 ## E,12(r9);		\
> +	popq	RBASE;			\
>  	ret;				\
>  	ENDPROC(FUNC);
>  
> +#define round_mov(tab_off, reg_i, reg_o) \
> +	leaq	tab_off(%rip), RBASE; \
> +	movl	(RBASE,reg_i,4), reg_o;
> +
> +#define round_xor(tab_off, reg_i, reg_o) \
> +	leaq	tab_off(%rip), RBASE; \
> +	xorl	(RBASE,reg_i,4), reg_o;
> +
>  #define round(TAB,OFFSET,r1,r2,r3,r4,r5,r6,r7,r8,ra,rb,rc,rd) \
>  	movzbl	r2 ## H,r5 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r2 ## L,r6 ## E;	\
> -	movl	TAB+1024(,r5,4),r5 ## E;\
> +	round_mov(TAB+1024, r5, r5 ## E)\
>  	movw	r4 ## X,r2 ## X;	\
> -	movl	TAB(,r6,4),r6 ## E;	\
> +	round_mov(TAB, r6, r6 ## E)	\
>  	roll	$16,r2 ## E;		\
>  	shrl	$16,r4 ## E;		\
>  	movzbl	r4 ## L,r7 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r4 ## H,r4 ## E;	\
>  	xorl	OFFSET(r8),ra ## E;	\
>  	xorl	OFFSET+4(r8),rb ## E;	\
> -	xorl	TAB+3072(,r4,4),r5 ## E;\
> -	xorl	TAB+2048(,r7,4),r6 ## E;\
> +	round_xor(TAB+3072, r4, r5 ## E)\
> +	round_xor(TAB+2048, r7, r6 ## E)\
>  	movzbl	r1 ## L,r7 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r1 ## H,r4 ## E;	\
> -	movl	TAB+1024(,r4,4),r4 ## E;\
> +	round_mov(TAB+1024, r4, r4 ## E)\
>  	movw	r3 ## X,r1 ## X;	\
>  	roll	$16,r1 ## E;		\
>  	shrl	$16,r3 ## E;		\
> -	xorl	TAB(,r7,4),r5 ## E;	\
> +	round_xor(TAB, r7, r5 ## E)	\
>  	movzbl	r3 ## L,r7 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r3 ## H,r3 ## E;	\
> -	xorl	TAB+3072(,r3,4),r4 ## E;\
> -	xorl	TAB+2048(,r7,4),r5 ## E;\
> +	round_xor(TAB+3072, r3, r4 ## E)\
> +	round_xor(TAB+2048, r7, r5 ## E)\
>  	movzbl	r1 ## L,r7 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r1 ## H,r3 ## E;	\
>  	shrl	$16,r1 ## E;		\
> -	xorl	TAB+3072(,r3,4),r6 ## E;\
> -	movl	TAB+2048(,r7,4),r3 ## E;\
> +	round_xor(TAB+3072, r3, r6 ## E)\
> +	round_mov(TAB+2048, r7, r3 ## E)\
>  	movzbl	r1 ## L,r7 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r1 ## H,r1 ## E;	\
> -	xorl	TAB+1024(,r1,4),r6 ## E;\
> -	xorl	TAB(,r7,4),r3 ## E;	\
> +	round_xor(TAB+1024, r1, r6 ## E)\
> +	round_xor(TAB, r7, r3 ## E)	\
>  	movzbl	r2 ## H,r1 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r2 ## L,r7 ## E;	\
>  	shrl	$16,r2 ## E;		\
> -	xorl	TAB+3072(,r1,4),r3 ## E;\
> -	xorl	TAB+2048(,r7,4),r4 ## E;\
> +	round_xor(TAB+3072, r1, r3 ## E)\
> +	round_xor(TAB+2048, r7, r4 ## E)\
>  	movzbl	r2 ## H,r1 ## E;	\
>  	movzbl	r2 ## L,r2 ## E;	\
>  	xorl	OFFSET+8(r8),rc ## E;	\
>  	xorl	OFFSET+12(r8),rd ## E;	\
> -	xorl	TAB+1024(,r1,4),r3 ## E;\
> -	xorl	TAB(,r2,4),r4 ## E;
> +	round_xor(TAB+1024, r1, r3 ## E)\
> +	round_xor(TAB, r2, r4 ## E)

This appears to be adding unconditional overhead to a function that was moved to 
assembly to improve its performance.

Thanks,

	Ingo

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ