Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 18 Oct 2017 10:15:59 +1100
From: "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc>
To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@...dmis.org>
Cc: kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com,
	Linus Torvalds <torvalds@...ux-foundation.org>,
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>,
	Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>,
	Tycho Andersen <tycho@...ker.com>,
	"Roberts, William C" <william.c.roberts@...el.com>,
	Tejun Heo <tj@...nel.org>,
	Jordan Glover <Golden_Miller83@...tonmail.ch>,
	Greg KH <gregkh@...uxfoundation.org>,
	Petr Mladek <pmladek@...e.com>, Joe Perches <joe@...ches.com>,
	Ian Campbell <ijc@...lion.org.uk>,
	Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@...il.com>,
	Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@....com>,
	Will Deacon <will.deacon@....com>, Chris Fries <cfries@...gle.com>,
	Dave Weinstein <olorin@...gle.com>,
	Daniel Micay <danielmicay@...il.com>,
	Djalal Harouni <tixxdz@...il.com>, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] printk: hash addresses printed with %p

On Tue, Oct 17, 2017 at 09:31:19AM -0400, Steven Rostedt wrote:
> On Tue, 17 Oct 2017 15:52:51 +1100
> "Tobin C. Harding" <me@...in.cc> wrote:
> 
> > Currently there are many places in the kernel where addresses are being
> > printed using an unadorned %p. Kernel pointers should be printed using
> > %pK allowing some control via the kptr_restrict sysctl. Exposing addresses
> > gives attackers sensitive information about the kernel layout in memory.
> > 
> > We can reduce the attack surface by hashing all addresses printed with
> > %p. This will of course break some users, forcing code printing needed
> > addresses to be updated.
> > 
> > For what it's worth, usage of unadorned %p can be broken down as follows
> > 
> >     git grep '%p[^KFfSsBRrbMmIiEUVKNhdDgCGO]' | wc -l
> 
> Does %p[FfSs] leak addresses? Well, I guess it does if they are not
> found in kallsyms, but otherwise you have:
> 
>   function+0x<offset>

You are correct %pF and %pS print an offset. Does this provide an attack vector,
I didn't think so but I'm no security expert. If they do then we need to amend
those calls also.

We still have %pa[pd] to see to as well obviously.

thanks for the review,
Tobin.

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ