Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Tue, 12 Sep 2017 07:51:06 +0100
From: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>
To: Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com>
Cc: "linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@...ts.infradead.org>, 
	Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@...db.de>, 
	Nicolas Pitre <nico@...aro.org>, Russell King <linux@...linux.org.uk>, 
	Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>, 
	Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@....com>, Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@....com>, 
	Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>, Dave Martin <dave.martin@....com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 00/29] implement KASLR for ARM

On 6 September 2017 at 21:08, Tony Lindgren <tony@...mide.com> wrote:
> * Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org> [170906 11:25]:
>> Did you capture the image_size and pa_start/pa_end as well?
>
> Sorry I guess that was an incomplete copy & paste, but here's
> another one:
>
> regions.image_size:00e08000
> regions.pa_start:80000000
> regions.pa_end:871f8000
> regions.zimage_start:81000000
> regions.zimage_size:004379e8
> regions.dtb_start:86feb000
> regions.dtb_size:00012000
> regions.initrd_start:00000000
> regions.initrd_size:00000000
> count:00000028
> num:00000025
> *kaslr_offset:05e00000
> Uncompressing Linux... done, booting the kernel.
> Warning: Neither atags nor dtb found
>
>> In any case, this is the exact same offset that failed before, so the
>> rounding of pa_start wasn't the problem.
>
> OK
>

I am pretty sure this is an issue with .bss, which is not covered by
image_size (and which is absolutely *huge* btw [8+ MB] on
omap2plus_defconfig, due to lockdep being enabled by default)

Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ