Openwall GNU/*/Linux - a small security-enhanced Linux distro for servers
[<prev] [next>] [<thread-prev] [thread-next>] [day] [month] [year] [list]
Date: Wed, 15 Mar 2017 09:52:54 -0400
From: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>
To: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>,
        Thomas Gleixner
 <tglx@...utronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@...hat.com>,
        "H . Peter Anvin" <hpa@...or.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@....net>,
        Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@...tuozzo.com>,
        Alexander Potapenko <glider@...gle.com>,
        Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@...gle.com>,
        Lorenzo Stoakes <lstoakes@...il.com>,
        Kees Cook <keescook@...omium.org>, Juergen Gross <jgross@...e.com>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...nel.org>,
        Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@...driver.com>,
        Andrew Morton <akpm@...ux-foundation.org>,
        Michal Hocko <mhocko@...e.com>, zijun_hu <zijun_hu@....com>,
        Chris Wilson <chris@...is-wilson.co.uk>,
        Andy Lutomirski <luto@...capital.net>,
        "Rafael J . Wysocki"
 <rjw@...ysocki.net>,
        Len Brown <len.brown@...el.com>, Pavel Machek <pavel@....cz>,
        Jiri Kosina <jikos@...nel.org>,
        Matt Fleming <matt@...eblueprint.co.uk>,
        Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@...aro.org>,
        Rusty Russell <rusty@...tcorp.com.au>,
        Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@...hat.com>, Borislav Petkov <bp@...e.de>,
        Christian Borntraeger
 <borntraeger@...ibm.com>,
        Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@...il.com>,
        "Luis R . Rodriguez" <mcgrof@...nel.org>,
        Stanislaw Gruszka <sgruszka@...hat.com>,
        Peter Zijlstra <peterz@...radead.org>,
        Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@...hat.com>,
        Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@...hat.com>,
        Tim Chen
 <tim.c.chen@...ux.intel.com>, Joerg Roedel <joro@...tes.org>,
        Radim Krčmář <rkrcmar@...hat.com>
Cc: x86@...nel.org, linux-kernel@...r.kernel.org, linux-doc@...r.kernel.org,
        kasan-dev@...glegroups.com, linux-mm@...ck.org,
        linux-pm@...r.kernel.org, linux-efi@...r.kernel.org,
        xen-devel@...ts.xenproject.org, lguest@...ts.ozlabs.org,
        kvm@...r.kernel.org, kernel-hardening@...ts.openwall.com
Subject: Re: [PATCH v7 1/3] x86/mm: Adapt MODULES_END based on Fixmap section
 size

On 03/14/2017 01:05 PM, Thomas Garnier wrote:
> This patch aligns MODULES_END to the beginning of the Fixmap section.
> It optimizes the space available for both sections. The address is
> pre-computed based on the number of pages required by the Fixmap
> section.
>
> It will allow GDT remapping in the Fixmap section. The current
> MODULES_END static address does not provide enough space for the kernel
> to support a large number of processors.
>
> Signed-off-by: Thomas Garnier <thgarnie@...gle.com>

For Xen bits (and to some extent bare-metal):

Reviewed-and-Tested-by: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@...cle.com>


Powered by blists - more mailing lists

Your e-mail address:

Powered by Openwall GNU/*/Linux - Powered by OpenVZ